Posted by: lornasass | December 12, 2013

NO NONSENSE CHICKEN BROTH

The older I get, the less I want to fuss–so I’ve pared down chicken broth to chicken bones and water.  If I’m feeling flamboyant and have some celery in the fridge, I throw that in, but it’s really not necessary.  

Chicken bones in my house get collected in the freezer.  When I have enough of them to fill the cooker halfway, I pour in enough water to almost reach the top of the pile of bones.

30 minutes under pressure, then the natural release.  When cool, lift out the bones with a slotted spoon.  Refrigerate the broth for up to 5 days or freeze for up to 3 months.  The broth is mineral rich and I often sip a mug-full with breakfast–a nourishing and soothing way to begin the day.  (I know this may sound strange, but after I heard the observation that Americans have dessert for breakfast, I switched to savory choices: eggs, kale, and maybe a little quinoa– and I don’t have an energy crash in the late morning.)

And guess what?  The broth is helping to keep my bones strong enough so I can make more.

Responses

  1. i love this tip!!!! brilliant…

  2. Roasting the bones for a few minutes gives a extra richness and Amber colour.

  3. Just checking on something I found unclear in the recipe: Do you add water to just cover the bones or to the top of the cooker?

    • Just enough water to come about an inch under the top of the bone pile.

      • Thanks!

  4. Sounds great–and pretty much what I do already. BUT I use the strainer insert that came with the pressure cooker and put the bones (and some seasonings and a bay leaf) in it. When the pressure has released, just lift out the insert, and voila, soups ready.

    • Brilliant and tx so much for sharing this smart, time-saving idea!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,804 other followers

