Posted by: lornasass | December 18, 2009

PRESSURE COOKING FOR VEGANS

It does my heart good that vegans are discovering GREAT VEGETARIAN COOKING UNDER PRESSURE and giving it a 5-star rating.

When it was published in 1994, no one knew what the word “vegan” meant so we used “vegetarian” in the title instead.  But vegan it is! (As are all of my cookbooks labeled “vegetarian.”)

Here’s what Deborah Madison had to say when the book came out: The new pressure cookers are terrific and Lorna Sass has done us all a great favor by demystifying this wonderfully practical tool. [She] turns around the notion that vegetarian food is time consuming to make and [proves it’s] possible to have delicious meals, made from scratch, on the table quickly and all the time.

You can order personally inscribed, signed copies by clicking Order on my web site.

Here are two recent reviews posted on Amazon that really made my day.

A must for high altitude vegans and vegetarians

By B. Gunther (Los Alamos, New Mexico), December 16, 2009

5.0 out of 5 stars

“This is my first Lorna Sass cookbook. It offers many options for beans and grains that simply weren’t available to me before because I live at high altitude where beans and brown rice can take 8 or more hours to cook. The pressure cooker and Ms. Sass’s directions make it possible for me to cook many grains that I avoided because I wasn’t sure how long to cook them at this altitude.

I love her detailed list of different varieties of beans and how long each must be soaked, by each method. Bean soaking has always been a mystery to me — every recipe describes a different method. Ms. Sass has figured out, apparently by experimentation, how long to soak each bean and how long to cook it at pressure. And her chart differs from bean to bean. What a great reference book.

I also love the details on pressure cookers — old types vs. new types and how to use both. I love the detailed instructions of how long to leave the cooker under pressure after turning off the flame.

And the recipes work! I can’t count the number of vegan recipes I have cooked which either didn’t work or just tasted like so much buckshot. I just made her Quinoa Corn Chile — wonderful. Can’t wait to try the others. Now that I have a pressure cooker recipe, I will try millet and other less commonly used grains.

And the recipes are mostly, if not all, vegan. At last I can add a little variety to my diet. Previously I only had about 10 vegan recipes that I liked.

*********

Favorite Cookbook of All Time, December 6, 2009

5.0 out of 5 stars

By Nerak (Atlanta, GA United States)

I love this book. The recipes are fabulous and everyone raves about them (vegetarian or not). It’s worth having a pressure cooker just for 5 minute, hands off risotto. This book helps me turn out elegant meals in short order. This book is such a must have for me, I have two of them. I misplaced it during a move and didn’t want to wait for it to turn up so I bought another. I selfishly wish Lorna Sass were a vegetarian so she would write another vegetarian pressure cooking book!

Responses

  1. Hi: I have all of Lorna’s books and use them often. I am a vegetarian and my favorite recipe is from her Recipes From An Ecological Kitchen- I make her Curried Yellow Split Pea Soup with Squash and Raisins at least once a month and give away some soup to friends. They enjoy it every much.
    Thanks Lorna
    Lois Buncher

    • Thank you so much for your kind remarks. This book is now available in paperback with the title LORNA SASS’ COMPLETE VEGETARIAN KITCHEN. We used the word “vegetarian” because few people knew what the word vegan meant when it was published, would you believe?

  2. […] it anywhere, but it is. And I love Lorna Sass. In fact, I just discovered her blog. She says in her section on veganism: “It does my heart good that vegans are discovering GREAT VEGETARIAN COOKING UNDER PRESSURE and […]

  3. […] it anywhere, but it is. And I love Lorna Sass. In fact, I just discovered her blog. She says in her section on veganism: “It does my heart good that vegans are discovering GREAT VEGETARIAN COOKING UNDER PRESSURE and […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

