Posted by: lornasass | February 7, 2010

COOK’S ILLUSTRATED COMPARES ELECTRIC COOKERS

Chris Kimball, publisher of Cook’s Illustrated, has long been a fan of pressure cookers.  I remember about 10 years ago, he called me to ask about my favorite brands, and they have run several comparison studies of the various stove-top models.  I’m thrilled that the magazine is helping to get the word out about this marvelous appliance.

In the January 2010 issue, they compare the performance of electric cookers against their favorite stove-top model.  You need to sign up for a free 2-week trial to get the particulars, so I’m not at liberty to copy and paste the results of their careful testing here.

Have a look if you feel drawn to electric cookers.  They are not a practical choice for folks like me who have limited counter space.  Also, keep in mind that electric cookers work at 9 pounds pressure PSI (per square inch) as opposed to 13-15 pounds PSI of stovetop cookers.  As a result, food takes about 20% longer to cook in an electric cooker.

Responses

  1. The one paragraph article, with 2 pictures, was difficult to find as it wasn’t in the table of contents. It is the bottom article on the left side of page 30.

  2. hi lorna. I wish I did not read this post. I signed up for cooksilliustrated to see what its like and decided it is not for me. I canceled 2 days later but was still charged for it at the end of “trial membership” and have been trying ever since to get this corrected. Please be aware that there are a lot of other people with similar stories based on following chowhound thread:

    http://chowhound.chow.com/topics/531244

    Although I used to like the show and ocassionally got the magazine I am really shocked at unethical practices of this magazine. They will not stop at nothing to make a quick buck


Leave a Reply

Categories

