Posted by: lornasass | June 15, 2011

PRESSURE COOKER GINGERED RHUBARB COMPOTE

Rhubarb and Strawberry Compote

The rhubarb in the farmers market sang to me and I decided to make a compote in the “pc.” I had some tart strawberries around, so I added them too. And for sweetness and great taste: crystallized ginger!

Here’s what you do:

Bring 1/2 cup water to boil in the cooker, then add 1 lb. rhubarb cut into 2-inch pieces. Toss in 1/2

Rhubarb-Strawberry Compote makes a nice gift too!

pint trimmed strawberries and 1/4 cup chopped, crystallized ginger (yum). Bring up to high pressure, then immediately turn off heat, move cooker to a cool burner, and allow the pressure to come down naturally.

Remove the lid and add sugar or honey to taste. When cool, transfer to jars and refrigerate for up to 10 days. Delicious with morning steel-cut oats and/or plain yogurt. Also nice as a condiment with Indian food.

Responses

  1. I have some fresh rhubarb from our CSA and have been meaning to make a compote, and now I have a great recipe. Thanks. I love pressure cooking and wish I could find more vegan pressure cooking main dishes. This is a great blog.

    • TX for your kind words. You’ll find lots of vegan recipes in my GREAT VEGETARIAN COOKING UNDER PRESSURE. It’s actually vegan but no one knew what the word meant when it was first published!

  2. It’s excellent to see a blog filled with good pressure cooking info. Rhubarb-Strawberry Compote is a recipe I am definitely going to try! I have recently discovered how excellent and useful a pressure cooker and a Pressure Canner really are. I save time, energy, and money – what else could a mom ask for? Keep the good recipes coming!

  3. It’s excellent to see a blog filled with good pressure cooking info. Rhubarb-Strawberry Compote is a recipe I am definitely going to try! I have recently discovered how excellent and use


Leave a Reply

Categories

